What’s Something No One Would Guess About You?

There are these two female bloggers I follow who post lifestyle/girly content, and they’re good at it. Looking at them and their content, you’d never guess that they’re also big fans of race car driving. Maybe it’s because NASCAR and all that isn’t too popular here in Canada (or amongst anyone I know), but it’s so strange to me. Every time I see one of them tweet about Formula 1 or whatever, I’m always so shook. An interest in such a thing just seems so different from the kind of persona they portray through their blogs.

Don’t get me wrong, though; I’m here for rounded people with a variety of interests!

what you'd call a well-rounded person. gif.

We know the saying “you can’t judge a book by its cover” is true, and this is an example of it. And it got me thinking: do I do this too? Do people ever read my blog and can’t believe the info I share? Do people who know me in real life occasionally find themselves shook when I say or do something?

I feel like I’m a pretty open book, but a boring one, so the idea that I inflict this similar shock onto others seems unlikely. The best I can offer is (and these are all things I’ve mentioned before on my blog):

  • that I count my sneezes, and even that is a goofy thing that’s not really awe-inspiring as it is slightly concerning
  • that I like 70’s/80’s music
  • that I’ve never broken a bone
  • that I used to play a variety of sports including hockey
  • that there were years where I’d be actively keeping up with around 15 TV shows a week
  • that I’m a very picky eater
  • that I make my own pickles

Stuff GIFs | Tenor

None of this is very exciting. None of this makes me seem like someone that’s got a rich history. No one hears that I make my own pickles and thinks “wow I want to get to know her better!” And that’s fine. I am who I am.

But for those of you who do have something a bit more shocking or interesting in your back pocket, what is it? What are the reactions when you mention it? Do you like mentioning it? Do you also think it’s weird/surprising?

I think it’s sometimes just interesting when these things come out because it forces us to remember that people aren’t one-trick ponies, and maybe some preconceived notions you had are false. I know I would do well to remember that sometimes.

That’s all for now!

 

Follow me: Twitter / Facebook / Instagram / Bloglovin’

4 thoughts on “What’s Something No One Would Guess About You?

  1. Something that others wouldn’t know (unless they’ve added me on a particular gaming system) is the number of hours I’ve spent on some games 😅 For some, it’s certainly surprising.

  2. 15 tv shows a WEEK? How did you find the time and energy? I’m so tired most nights (and night is the only time I can get sometime away from family and work to watch something for myself)>

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.