I Love Social Media, Okay? I Love It.

I’m not ashamed to admit that I spend a lot of time on the internet and a large portion of that is on social media. I’m always refreshing my feeds and checking my email and whatnot. Maybe because I was late to join the social media world I’m more than making up for it now? I wake up in the morning and immediately check my phone. It’s the last thing I do before I go to sleep. It’s what I do the second I step in my house. Is that weird? I just don’t like missing things.

Last week, though, I went to a friend’s cottage and I was without wifi for two and a half days. Not only was reception spotty but I don’t have a data plan so I was without anything but texts. Not to mention that we were only able to get one radio station and probably no TV channels, so I was lost and unaware. There was some terrorist attack in Barcelona that I heard about two days late. Being without social media really bothered me. My hand was itching to pick up my phone and click on some apps, but I couldn’t.

A thirsty Spongebob looking at a cold glass of water but with social media icons over the icecubes

I see a lot of tweets from people who love being able to leave social media for a week or who purposely cleanse themselves of it for a little while. I know people who are excited to be away from it all, and I guess I can understand why celebrities choose to leave. A lot of people dislike social media. But not me. Which is admittedly kind of dumb, because I’m not even connected to much. I’m not constantly communicating with people or being social. I’m not really doing anything when I’m online. I’m just refreshing feeds and reading and keeping busy. I wish I was being more social. I wish I had a good reason to be on social media, but I don’t really.

I have a friend who is growing to despise social media. He was telling me that he only checks social media once or twice a week and he’s started calling people instead of texting them. He said, and I quote, “I don’t know how you’re on it all day.”

But here’s the thing: I love it. I love being connected. I get news right away, I get entertainment, I get information. I can stay updated on the blogosphere, fandom activities, and memes. It’s great. I do understand how toxic and tiring social media can be. I can’t even imagine what it’s like for celebrities online, but for me right now, I don’t have to deal with any of that. I know to unfollow people who annoy me and I’m not nearly popular enough to have haters.

Social media may not be the healthiest of things and I may use it a bit too much, but I think that’s okay, because I am aware of my actions and choices. It’s available and free and I’m going to use it as I see fit. I loved being able to go to a cottage, don’t get me wrong, but I am here to make it known that I missed the internet and social media. Two and a half days was hard.

Kimmy Schmidt saying she survived

What I didn’t miss, however, was makeup. I don’t even wear a lot of makeup on a regular basis, but it was so nice to not worry about if my mascara was running after swimming in the lake or if my acne was kind of covered.

What’s your relationship with social media like? Can you go two and a half days without it?

 

Follow me: Twitter / Facebook / InstagramBloglovin’

19 thoughts on “I Love Social Media, Okay? I Love It.

  1. I deleted Instagram a few weeks ago to clear the cache and just didn’t re-download it and I haven’t missed it at all. I don’t think I could ever do without Twitter though. It’s just too convenient a source of information and laughs.

    • I’m new to Instagram but I knew I wouldn’t use it too much, and I don’t. If I wanted to, I could easily delete and not miss that. But Twitter, as you said, would be very hard to part with. It’s so versatile and fun.

  2. I agree with you, social media is A-MA-ZING!! 😀 My mom hates it and never uses it, my dad uses it every quite regularly. I also go on social media every day, specially in summer, it’s harder to keep up when you’re in school, but I kinda try to. 😛
    I love when you said and I quote: “I love being connected. I get news right away, I get entertainment, I get information. I can stay updated on the blogosphere, fandom activities, and memes.” agree 100%!!! 😀 😀
    Amazing post!!!! 😀

  3. Oh god – 2 and a half days, how did you survive??😂 I had a school geography trip to Snowdonia in Wales recently and the area we were staying at had no signal…I loved the trip and all but I felt so disconnected from the rest of the world to an extent because of how much I rely on my phone and social media

    • I’m so glad other people understand how I felt! These days, we rely on social media so much, so it’s not that I can’t go without it, it’s that I shouldn’t. I’ve conditioned myself to use it and a change in my habits is obviously going to bother me.
      But at least I had fun at the cottage and you had fun on your trip. Joy makes the distance so, so worth it.

      • Yeah, that’s very true. We rely on it (and phones in general) too much when we could easily use alternative methods at times so it’s great that you’re trying to minimise the amount of time you spend on it!! And yep, exactly 🙂

  4. No fb/tweet/insta etc for me, but I do blog, and rarely part with the internet for more than 24 hours. So, two and a half days? Kudos to you! I mean it. 🙂 Cheers!

  5. As an upcoming blogger, I am in a cordial relationship with my social media accounts. LOL! Two days without social media? Nah, I don’t think I can. For my blog presence though as I don’t really check my personal social media accounts.
    It’s good to know that you survived at the end. 👍

    • I totally know what you mean. There’s a lot of pressure as a blogger to maintain a good online presence. But I like it! And I, too, use my blog accounts waaaay more than my personal ones. Bloggers are a lot more interesting than my few friends!

    • I love Twitter and Tumblr! I don’t read enough for Goodreads, am new to Insta, and don’t really have an interest in Pinterest (though my mom does!). But social media is social media, and if you like it, that’s all that matters. There’s a platform for everything!

  6. Social media is one of best advancements that I’ve seen in communication, there’s so much that you can gain from being on it but unfortunately a lot of people utilise it for the wrong things.

    • That’s true. People take advantage of it’s ease and anonymity to do more damage than good, which is a shame, but unfortunately, something we’ll never be free of as awful people will always exist.

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

