#BehindThisDoor And How Non-Bloggers See Bloggers

So maybe you saw the hashtag #BehindThisDoor on Twitter this week. I follow a lot of geeky bloggers and they were all up in arms about it. Here’s the deal with it:

A blogger recently got to see an early screening of Spider-Man Homecoming and reviewed it on her blog saying that she liked the movie and all, but was really bothered by one line from Tony Stark. That line was, “Behind this door is a bunch of reporters. Real ones, not bloggers.” The implication of this, of course, being that bloggers are not real reporters and are not worth anyone’s time.

So, in the blogger’s article on the movie, she used the hashtag #BehindThisDoor to explain what a blogger really is, and people followed suit.

I’m torn about this, and here’s why: I’m not a real reporter. I am just a blogger. I know this. That’s not to say ALL bloggers are not real reporters, but the fact is, most aren’t. And I’d think that if you are a real reporter, you’d identify as one before you would a blogger, but that’s none of my business. But basically, any news or info I ‘report’ is second hand. The same goes for any article I write on Popwrapped. The only way it could be spun is if you consider me a reporter of my own opinions, but in that sense, anyone with a Twitter account is also a reporter, which is baloney. But I do understand why so many people are upset about this line. Blogging is a lot of work, most of it just for fun, but bloggers aren’t some group of lowly, awkward people making a mockery of writing.

Behind this door is a bunch of photographers. Real ones, not paparazzi. You see how in this comparison one is good and one is bad? Tony’s line should not be like that.

Anyway, I still love Tony Stark (after all, I am #TeamIronMan) and honestly, it’s completely in character for him to say something like that. After all, hypothetically, how many ‘tech bloggers’ have approached him wanting to know more about Stark Industries or his Iron Man suit? He’s just being cocky and hyping up young Peter and it’s not that big a deal to me.

But this all does speak to a large issue, and that’s how non-bloggers see bloggers. Blogging is stigmatized a little, and that’s a fact. Blogging is, for most people, a bit of a dorky hobby for those who love to write but don’t necessarily have a more professional platform. There are so many bloggers out there and the blogosphere is wonderful, but like in many communities, it’s not understood by outsiders very well. I’m fairly comfortable talking about my blog, but I won’t shove it down people’s throats, so often prompting from my parents is what leads to other people in my life finding out. Last year (after prompting) I told my uncle about it and he was very impressed to know that this blog has survived for a few years and has over five hundred followers (I may have neglected to tell him that only about fifty of them actually read my posts). People are also so surprised when I tell them that I blog and have been doing so for years (especially when I then proceed to struggle to explain what I blog about) because they just don’t know what it’s about. As much as there are many bloggers out there, they’re not always so public with this information.

In the last five years, blogging has gotten a lot more popular. Bloggers of all ages are popping up, and while that’s great, it kind of has saturated the industry. No longer are bloggers just those brilliant freelance people who share their deep opinions on the side as well as write powerful exposés for bigger platforms, they’re regular people like me who just like to write and like having readers. And I think that’s great. It is something that anyone can do, as long as one has the drive, and it’s wonderful that there are kids discovering their passions. But until you’re a blogger, you won’t understand. You won’t understand that I spend hours writing posts and hours networking only to get a handful of views. You won’t understand that I share my posts on Facebook all the time but only my mom ever really Likes them. You won’t understand that we struggle every day to make our posts the best and stand out, and most don’t.Image result for you dont understand gif

Non-bloggers don’t understand blogs, or they only think of them as fun little free side projects. Some people blog for a living. But it’s the lack of understanding that allows for lines like Tony Stark’s to make it into a movie. So we bloggers have to raise awareness. The #BehindThisDoor tag is a solid start.

And as for me, #BehindThisDoor is a 21 year old girl who loves to write and understands that thought it is a hobby for some, others blog for a career and it’s nothing to knock until you’ve tried it.

Follow me: Twitter / Facebook / InstagramBloglovin’

12 thoughts on “#BehindThisDoor And How Non-Bloggers See Bloggers

  1. Anyone with a Twitter account can and should report their ideas and opinions. It’s called Freedom of Speech. And God bless Canada for allowing it. The same goes for blogging.
    On a moral front, tweets and blog posts should be respectful and written with integrity. It’s not the fact that you didn’t discover the “news” but that you present it in a dignified way.
    Keep sharing and writing and informing and entertaining.

  2. I definitely know that feeling of only your mum really liking your posts 🤣. But on a serious note, this was a really well written and thoughtful post.

  3. It’s nice to see the perspective of a growing blogger. Like hobby photographers, there are hobby bloggers. Hobby photographers no longer give professional photographers a bad name, so why should hobby bloggers? You can immediately tell the difference from a professional photo and a hobby photo. This should apply to blogging. Professional bloggers should be holding their visual content to a higher standard. I do believe we hold ourselves up to a professional work ethic and standard. After all, it’s 2017. We didn’t just start this last year. Your article was well thought out and gives a good perspective.

    • Exactly! My blog and I have no effect on newspapers or other publications. We coexist. I like to think I also have a professional work ethic too, just without the dedicated readership!
      Thank you!

  4. Great post which describes blogging to non bloggers very well. Bloggers are interesting whatever shape or size their blogs come in. Behind this door is a 56 year old blogger having fun on her blogging journey of over 4 years and meeting fantastically creative people. Keep blogging!!

  5. This post was amazing!! And so true!! 😀 ❤ Yeah, non bloggers know NOTHING about having a blog, they think it's TOO simple, and they sometimes look at you like you're a nerd or something (At least some of my friends do that) If only they knew. :/
    Again, great post!!

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

