Things I’d Do If I Had The Time

I often dream about having unlimited free time. Can you imagine never worrying about going to work or school or making money and instead being able to do things you actually want to do? I can’t fully fathom it, but I do like to think about it. So much so, that I have a list of things I wish I could do, but don’t have the time. And while I do know that I waste a lot of time online or watching TV reruns, I justify those actions because they’re temporary fills. I’m scrolling Tumblr for an hour because I can’t very well watch a movie in that time instead. If I had five hours to kill, then things would be different.

Anyways, in my perfect little dream world where my bank account has a lot of zeros to the left of the decimal and I have no commitments, here are the things that I’d do, and one day hope to:

Watch the Star Wars and The X-Men movies

Image result for x men characters

I have never fully seen anything from these franchises. It’s shocking, I know, considering you’d think they’d be right up my alley, but I just never got into them. And now they’re both up to like seven movies each and I don’t have time for that. I do want to watch them, though. Eventually I’ll get around to it…maybe I’ll do one franchise over this summer…

Read more books

With school and TV, it takes me a while to read a book, which sucks because I like to read. There are a few books that I’ve heard good things about and want to read and hopefully this summer I can try. My lack of time to read is also a reason I’ve never seen Game Of Thrones, because I know I’d want to read the books first and I have no time to read those huge things.

Finish all the video games I started

I don’t play video games anymore. I got back into them last summer for a few weeks, but that’s all. I still have all my games and would love to go back to them, but some of them, the console ones especially, need several hours of time. With the Nintendo Switch being released last month, I’m seeing a lot of people online playing Zelda, one of my favourites, and I yearn to get back to that world.

Finish my novel

I’m slowly working on this. I’ve just finished some editing and started writing again, which is great because I do enjoy it, but I know I need to sit down and write for several hours rather than the hour or so I’ve been doing. If I had time, I’d definitely commit to it.

Binge-watch TV more shows

I have a small list of shows I want to watch including Smallville, Arrested Development, and Veep, but I know that if I had complete freedom I’d watch so many more. I love TV.

Learn how to make pottery

Image result for pottery

I’ve always wanted to try pottery. Shaping things just with your hands looks so interesting and I’ve always wondered what that clay feels like as it spins.

Teach myself Photoshop and video editing

I think the Adobe suite is really cool and I have a basic knowledge of it from a course I took last year, but I’d love to learn more. There are a lot of tutorials out there and I know people say they taught themselves just by clicking around on it, so if I had time, I’d teach myself. This is also something I feel I should do sooner rather than later as a lot of the jobs I apply for want a knowledge of Adobe.

Go on a roadtrip

The idea of roadtrips are so romanticized nowadays but I’ve completely fallen for it. I think it’d be so much fun to pack into a car with friends and drive across a country while listening to music and eating junk food. Though I guess the problem with this one, aside from my lack of time, is the fact that I don’t have a group of friends or a place to go.

 

One day. One day I’ll do all of these. Some aren’t too unrealistic and if I really budget my time and commit, I should be able to complete these tasks. There’s only 86400 seconds in a day. As anyone can understand, things like school or work or parenting or sleeping take priority, sucking up a lot of those seconds, but there’ll come a day where all 86400 seconds are mine.

What would you do if you had the time?

 

Follow me: Twitter / Facebook / Bloglovin’

11 thoughts on “Things I’d Do If I Had The Time

  1. I’d like to learn how to renovate a house. Also watch so much TV and movies, read so many books, get in shape and finally learn to skateboard. But so often it seems like so many of my plans, outside of slowly (SLOWLY) plugging away on my tv and book list, are contingent on some day winning the lottery.

    • Yep, that’s how it goes. Money makes the world go round.
      Learning to skateboard would be cool for sure. I can’t even go down a driveway on one, so I am always in awe of people who can use one well!

  2. Videogames are ELITE especially in this day and age, get back to it Beans! Pottery sounds cool. If you get into Thrones it will open doors to many different TV series if you like it. Got many TV recs if so. I do stuff in stages – from sports, TV, movies, games, its mayhem. So much to grasp yet so little time

  3. I couldn’t get into Game of Thrones. And I tried, but after 3 episodes of incest and no dragons, I was out.

    I’d like to travel more, and re-watch longer movies (for example, I think the last one I saw Lord of The Rings all the way through was 4 or 5 years ago, and I’m pretty sure I haven’t seen all of The Hobbit films yet).

    • Yeah, the disturbing adult themes is like the #1 reason I haven’t watched Game Of Thrones. I just don’t want to watch that.
      I’ve seen all the LOTR and Hobbit films, but just once, and that one time was enough for me. I didn’t love those movies (or the books). But rewatching them is a huge task, so good luck!

      • We used to re-watch LOTR all the time, but it’s been quite a while. I definitely prefer the first trilogy (in terms of chronological movie making) to The Hobbit, although overall I liked the adaptation. But that’s probably also because I honestly liked the book of The Hobbit more than LOTR. The writing style was much more like the medevial literature it was inspired by, too much for my taste.

        Game of Thrones really bothered me. I honestly didn’t see the need for such graphic and explicit displays. I’ve seen other period dramas/historical fiction/fantasy shows that covered such topics as sexual deviance in a way where it was clear what they were discussing, but you didn’t see anything too gross. So I didn’t see why GoT couldn’t do the same, and still be a good program.

  4. The way I desperately need to learn how to use Photoshop! I went through so much trouble trying to get the software on my laptop but now that I have it (+ the tutorials), I just reeaally don’t have time to explore it. Haha. Great post!

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

