Sometimes The Blogosphere Annoys Me

Everything isn’t sunshine and roses in the blogosphere. There are many wonderful parts, way more than negative for sure, but that doesn’t mean we can ignore the less than pleasant parts. And maybe these are only less than pleasant to me, someone who is admittedly very over-critical, but that doesn’t make them any less of a problem.

This is not a call out. I am not targeting anyone. Everyone is free to do what they want with their blogs and that is super-duper. Goodness knows I’m not perfect and neither is my blog. The point of this post is just me letting my readers know my blogosphere pet peeves. Maybe you agree. Maybe you don’t. That’s fine. Please don’t argue too much with me. I’m far too tired to argue.

Here are the things that happen in the blogosphere that annoy me. Let’s get salty:

Image result for rant gif

  • Bloggers with Twitter accounts that are almost all just sharing post links….over and over and over….and over. I probably won’t follow you if you do this, but I do follow a few of those Blog Retweet accounts and I see some of the same bloggers so many times anyways. It gets annoying. No one wants to be spammed by the same three posts 50 times in three days. Why bother having social media if you only use it for blog posts? And perhaps these Blog Retweet accounts should look at who they’re retweeting and go “Hm, I just retweeted three posts from this person already, so I’m not going to retweet their other five,” instead of just blindly doing it.
  • When someone starts a new blog and then says “I don’t know what I’m going to write about” or “Tell me what to write!”. That isn’t convincing me to stick around at all. There’s a difference between wanting your readers’ opinions and wanting readers’ to do all the thinking for you.
  • Follow for Follow or Like for Like. I’ve been seeing a surge in these kind of requests on Facebook. I know blogging is largely a numbers game, but numbers are meaningless if they do nothing. I don’t want someone following me back or Liking my posts/page because I did the same first, I want you to do it because you genuinely like what I have to say. Don’t follow my blog but never read my posts.
  • People who spam likes. I see this in WordPress’ Community Pool sometimes…someone will go through and like literally every single comment in there. As much as I enjoy getting likes, I know it’s probably not genuine and you’re doing it so you have more chances for people can go to your site.
  • Bad grammar…I know I sound snobby here, but I really can’t stand it when people don’t use uppercase I’s or have run on sentences because they’re used to talking, not writing. I know it’s a learned skill and I know some people probably choose not to do it, but I can’t imagine why people wouldn’t try to make their blog as professional as possible…especially because sometimes these are the same people who bought their domain and spend hours taking good pictures so they can seem more professional. The bad grammar extends to social media too. I know 140 characters can be tough on Twitter, but try to be consistent in terms of style.

Image result for bad grammar gif

  • I really hate how clique-y the blogosphere can be. There’s so much I can say here, but I think anyone who’s been in the blogosphere on Twitter knows exactly how it can be. It kind of makes it harder for other bloggers (me) to fit in.
  • When people use too many emojis. This means in the post as well as on Twitter. On Twitter at least I understand that they draw the eye and are fun, but in a post they sometimes look silly. Like, what, you’ve written all those words but you don’t know how to express yourself without a little face showing it? 🙄 (<- this is both a reaction and an example).

You know, now that I think about it, this is the second blog post I’ve written where I am critical of blogging aspects. Perhaps you remember the Blog Drinking Game I made up? Sorry for being a downer all the time, especially on a Monday morning. The good news is, now that I’ve complained publically, I’m able to just move on and be quiet about my frustrations in the future.

Do you have any blogosphere pet peeves or are annoyed by something in the blogosphere? If yes (and we all know there is something that bothers you), let me know! Come on, be salty with me!

 

Follow me: Twitter / Facebook / Bloglovin’

32 thoughts on “Sometimes The Blogosphere Annoys Me

  1. I completely second many of your opinions.It is as if you gave words to all that little bottled up thoughts.I think liking a post without even reading it is the most annoying of them.Wishing you a great week ahead.

  2. I’m with you on the bad grammar except my pet peeve about that runs over into real life. It’s ‘ASKED’ not ‘AXED’ and stop saying ‘UNTHAW’ because ‘UNTHAW’ isn’t even a thing and if it was it would mean ‘TO FREEZE’. Good rant!

    • I have never heard/seen someone used ‘axed’ but I totally agree.
      I’ve never really thought about ‘unthaw’…I think I say defrost, but I totally understand how ‘unthaw’ doesn’t make sense.

    • How about “birfday” instead of birthday or “wif out” instead of without? Also, the fact that some people don’t know the difference between You’re/Your and Their/There/They’re is mind-blowing.

  3. I really agree with some of these. Especially when people claim to have a college education but can’t spell or use the proper grammar to save their lives. And there are indeed these little groups that form, where it seems the same 20 people all follow each other, but newcomers aren’t really encouraged or welcomed. I’ve experienced that myself. And definitely yes to the using too many emojis or only liking/following because you think that’s what it will get you in return! Honestly I only follow blogs that I want to, and if I subscribe to a blog or social media account, it’s because I will be reading most of the content.

    • I haven’t seen too many bloggers who have awful spelling/grammer, but I’m sure they’re out there. It’s unfortunate that the blogosphere is bogged down by so many annoying things that seems to affect many. At least I know I’m not alone!

      • I think it’s part of human nature to do some of these things – like form the cliques and develop trends that are “in” or “not.”

        Don’t worry, one day the rest of us (the truly smart ones) will be running the show. 😉

  4. Your blog drinking game is hilarious xD and I really agree with many of the points that you raise in your post. In particular, liking content that you haven’t read is very irritating xx

  5. I agree about the bad grammar, especially people using of instead of have. I’m sick of the phoneys. The people who click follow and like but never read your posts, and the cliques. The trite and banal comments on each and every one of their friends posts. I feel better now!

  6. Just out of curiosity, how can you tell if you have followers that never read your posts?
    I’m new to this so I am excited to have 10 followers, (including my mum!) But maybe they’re all fake followers and don’t bother reading.

    I’m also a little confused why anyone would bother to follow a blog if they didn’t like it/didn’t want to read it!

    • I think in terms of reading actual posts, I’d think most people actually do read. My remark was more geared toward WordPress’ Community Pool (where you should definitely go to since you’re new!) where people sometimes spam-like people’s comments.
      That being said, sometimes I’ll get a post Like at 1am so I’ll check my stats and it’ll say 0 for the day, so either WordPress’ stats aren’t perfectly accurate or that person didn’t actually visit the post.

      • I did have a look at community pool last week… but it takes soooo long to go through and peek at all those blogs!

        This week I didn’t have time to look at them, so I didn’t add anything. I figured that was the way it works. Anyway I’ll try to be cool as beans and not join in in a spammy way. 🙂

  7. I’ve been thinking about the blogging community a lot recently as well as how I conduct myself as a blogger – will definitely be spamming less (have already started that) and not following back just because.
    I think a lot of bloggers need to be reminded of how blogging is a creative thing rather than a click-bait thing, but like you say, each to their own!

    • For sure! I know the follow-back thing is hard because you don’t want to seem like you’re pretentious or anything but we all understand that we have different interests.

  8. Have to admit, I rather enjoyed this post. I do have to agree with points two and three. It always makes me roll my eyes when I read, “I don’t know what to write” (I involuntarily say to myself, “then why are you writing this blog post??”, instantly feel bad and move on aha).

    About point three: Completely agree about the fact that there is no point in following, if you aren’t going to read any of the blog posts. We write to share our interests and views and would like for them to be appreciated. Large follower numbers mean nothing if none of your followers are engaging with your blog.
    (Although, some of us, i.e. me aha, are quite busy with studies so aren’t always online to read posts. Still though, I make an effort to interact and engage as much as I can).

    • Yeah, work/school/whatnot can make it hard to interact with other people’s blogs. For me I find that it’s more of a time thing where I need time to write a thoughtful comment and when I’m quickly scrolling through the Reader/Twitter before school, I don’t have that time, but I’m working on forcing myself to do something more.

  9. Standing ovation for this post. Took the thoughts right out of my head. I can’t stand new bloggers asking their audience of 3, what they should write about. Might as well go up to a stranger at the grocery store and ask them for ideas.
    I’m now going to follow your blog in a genuine manner.

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

