Fantastic Beasts Review (Spoiler Free!)

Fantastic Beasts was really fantastic. Everyone’s going to say that but it’s true! I saw it last night. My Quidditch team got advance passes and since we got there super early we got to see it in IMAX (thanks Warner Bros!!!). I was so excited.

Related image

I was also a bit nervous. I trust JK Rowling, but there was a split in the fandom when The Cursed Child came out (though I liked it) and I know people were apprehensive about a promise of five Beasts movies based off a book that didn’t even have a plot.

But it really delivered. Obviously I’m not going to spoil anything but a general plot is that Newt Scamander, a British wizard, accidentally loses control of a bunch of magical creatures in New York sometime in the 1920’s. I like the 20’s and the fun, classy vibe so I was happy with this.

The really cool thing is that it could have been a standalone movie. There were, of course, many fun references to Harry Potter and the magical world we know, but it really didn’t rely on it too much. And I liked that. It made it feel new and fresh. The new setting and the different kind of magic and terms removed the familiar Harry Potter aspect enough to rejuvenate the wonder. Harry Potter was largely about Harry and his life. Fantastic Beasts was about the magical world that we all want to know more about.

The movie was really fun overall. That also made it stand out from the other Potter films (especially the last few as they were really dark the whole time). Fantastic Beasts had so many jokes and fun moments and cool visual effects all the way through and it was really enjoyable. The beasts themselves were really neat! The niffler was adorable and Picket the bowtruckle is the new baby Groot (can someone please draw me a picture of baby Groot and Picket dancing or something???) but I think there should have been at least one dragon. The more dragons the better.

Image result for fantastic beasts
I want one!

As for the cast they were superb. Eddie Redmayne was amazing. He’s so likeable and adorable and that really carried over to Newt. The two girls in the movie were also great but Katherine Waterston (who played Tina) stood out. I really liked her and hope we see a lot more of her. As for the no-maj (or muggle) played by Dan Fogler, his role was very interesting. There wasn’t really a magic-less main character in the Potter movies, so I think us viewers really connected to Jacob. We want to be a part of the magic just like he was.

I also wanted to mention Ezra Miller. I don’t want to give away anything but I’ve really only seen him in The Perks Of Being A Wallflower, and his character in Fantastic Beasts, Credence, was very, very different from the hilarious Patrick. I enjoyed his performance a lot though (despite the horrible haircut he was plagued with). I can’t wait to see him as the Flash!

The plot was definitely interesting enough to make four more movies out of. I must say, I was a bit confused in the first half of the movie as to how the subplot with Credence tied to Newt’s story, but it was all revealed in the end and the set up for the future was captivating.

I always appreciate movies that cover all ranges of emotion and Fantastic Beasts really did. The rule of thumb for this movie: when Eddie Redmayne cries, I cry.

I also cried when it ended. I don’t know why. Well, I kind of do. I was just really feeling the magic, I think. Harry Potter has shaped so much of my life and I’m glad that this new series is reinstating a new feeling of awe and excitement and happiness that I didn’t really feel as a kid because I missed a lot of the movies in theaters. I don’t care that I’ll be thirty-something when the last Fantastic Beasts movie comes out. I’ll be packing up my future kid(s) and my future attractive husband and hitting up the nearest theater.

It doesn’t matter what you may have thought about The Cursed Child, go see Fantastic Beasts if you want to experience the magic that we all fell in love with. It’s so good. Too good. I loved it.

Related image
Actual footage of me at the end of the movie

P.S. I was kind of sad my favourite fantastic beast from the book, the Chizpurfle, wasn’t in the movie. Next time, please!

P.P.S. Last week a few Quidditch players and I went to the red carpet for this movie and though only the girls signed my poster (because we were unfortunately behind a pole! #bitter), it was still really cool to be within meters of the stars!

 

Follow me: Twitter / Facebook / Bloglovin’

29 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts Review (Spoiler Free!)

  1. I saw it the other night and loved it! I NEED TO KNOW WHERE I CAN BUY A NIFFLER! I cried so much at the end until I realised I was wearing mascara- I came out with awful panda eyes but it was totally worth it. I’m going to see it again on Sunday and this time I’ll take make up wipes so I can cry freely 😂

    • Nifflers look like too much work…I want a bowtruckle!
      I usually never want to watch things again so soon after but I seriously was ready go see this like the next day! I seriously loved it and I’m glad others are loving it too!

  2. Thanks for the good review! I can’t wait to see the movie, I appreciate it being spoiler-free, too. Took me longer than it should have to find one without any spoilers 😛

  3. I felt apprehensive about this film too (would it be one spin-off too many?), but they absolutely delivered. Amazing. The beasts really were fantastic and there was a lot more comedy than I expected. I want to watch it again already!

  4. I’m so excited to see this movie, I can’t wait and I’m dying reading reviews while being in the dark.

    Side note though: how did you get all the little share icons at the bottom of your post? I can’t figure out how :/

  5. I definitely agree! I love how it could be a movie on its own. Also, I think we could see new fans of the wizarding world who do not resonate with Harry Potter.

  6. Are you a MIND READER? All these thoughts are excactly what I thought! I LOVED this movie, and yes, it coul’ve been a standalone (that’s how awesome it was), but I really can’t wait for the rest. AND, HIGH FIVE, YES: There were a few references to HP but I liked how it didn’t rely on it. Lot’s of non-Hp fans watched it and I’m glad that others got to enjoy it and so could I. I’m a massive HP fan, and I was So incredibly scared that Fantastic Beasts would be as disappointing as Cursed Child. I don’t want to make this comment too long so you can check out my review any time you like!

    • I’m seriously so glad people enjoyed this film. Like you said, after Cursed Child, there were some major worries. I love HP and really wanted every fan to be happy, and I’m so glad that for the most part they are. I usually never want to rewatch movies so soon but I’ve seriously been itching to see it again because it really was SO GOOD.

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

