Why ‘This Is Us’ Works

No spoilers, only praise!

There are really two genres when it comes to TV shows: comedy and drama. Sometimes there are blurs, but for the most part it’s either a light show, or a heavy show. And that’s fine, because people have different interests and there’s surely a show to appeal to you.

But guys. This Is Us is a new genre. It’s not a comedy and it’s not really a drama. It’s something different.

Image result for this is us

This show was making noise as soon as the trailer dropped back in May. It was the most watched show trailer, which was understandable, because it stood out. Set to Jason Mraz’s ‘I Won’t Give Up’, it showed several people experiencing emotions. Sadness, wonder, happiness… An overweight woman unhappy with her body, a soon-to-be-father worried about his wife and future offspring, a man meeting his birth father. Even if we haven’t experienced these things, we can understand the raw emotion that these characters are feeling. We can see it in their faces. There’s something magical about human life in that sense; we always want to know what other people’s lives are like. We want to connect and feel.

I watched the trailer and knew I had to give this show a shot. There wasn’t much of a plot shown, but further reading on the show revealed that all the characters share a birthday and are loosely connected, kind of like in that movie Valentine’s Day. From this information and the amazing trailer, I knew that not only would this show be something special, but it’d be a show that would really have an impact on me. I don’t cry a lot. Characters I love have to die for me to shed tears, but darn it, if I wasn’t tearing up at that trailer… I knew this would be a show to mess me up.

And mess me up it did. We’re only three episodes in as of last night, but this show is even better than I expected.

First of all, the pilot was fantastic. It could be a stand alone short film, really. I don’t think I’ve never been so excited for a show just based on the first episode. The twist at the end was brilliant and wonderful and I was literally counting down the days until episode two. And then episode two came and it was just as wonderful with just as big a twist at the end. Episode three was without a twist, but had the same about of heart and honesty and love.

Image result for this is us gif tv

The love is why this show works. Viewers fall in love with their love. This show isn’t using comedy and relatable scenarios to get to you, they’re showing you a handful of special yet average people whose lives are about their family and their choices. We see real sides of people that most shows would only reveal later through heavy character development. It is still somewhat relatable, but that’s not the selling point.

Not to mention that this show has a unique ability to present stories due to its timeline. I can’t say too much on that as it is a slight spoiler, but the way it has been set up will allow this show to hopefully survive and prosper for years to come without reverting to cheesy methods.

I am not one to like shows like this. My TV schedule is mostly either comedies or superhero shows, so this is very out of place. It’s not a total feel-good show and it’s not depressing either. That balance and that rawness is special, and it’s what draw people like me in. This show stands out and its ability to not fit into any categories is really amazing.

This Is Us was one of the first shows to be picked up for a full season (yay!) and I’m sure that it’ll get a second one too.

If you haven’t seen this show yet, I highly suggest you give it a watch. If you don’t fall in love after the first episode then you may be a robot. It’s on at 9pm on Tuesdays, right between The Flash and Agents Of SHIELD for me and it stars Mandy Moore, Milo Ventimiglia, Sterling K Brown, Justin Hartley and Chrissy Metz. It is not one to be missed.

this gon be good gif
Me, thinking about this show.

 

Follow me: Twitter / Facebook / Bloglovin’

17 thoughts on “Why ‘This Is Us’ Works

  1. “If you don’t fall in love with this show, you’re a robot” – haha, yeah! I got SO choked up about 40 minutes into the pilot, and then when the twist was revealed, I just felt my jaw drop… It was so well done, and like you said, it made everything make sense without feeling forced or bordering on cheesy.

    • Me too! That moment of realizing what’s going on was so great! I was tearing up by the end of the first two episodes and I’m sure there are more years in my future!

  2. I thought it was only the second one that I missed last night. I’m going to try to catch it on “On-Demand” I need a story to follow ❤ I agree it looks really good !!!

  3. Per your suggestion, and wonderful synopsis…I will definitely take a look. I love powerful suggestions, which in my opinion steer me on to a path I didn’t even realize was there. I not only love watching compelling television, I am thrilled when so many people love the show too, it will be hanging around for a second, third, and possibly many helpings beyond this. Once my whistle is wet, I want more!!!

  4. I came across this post today and I am glad to have found another fan! The show is just brilliant! And I absolutely agree with all that you have said in this post. It was like reading my own thoughts about the show! 🙂

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

