Sing Street Movie Review

Do you like 80’s music? Do you like feel good movies?

Y’all. Sing Street. It’s my new movie obsession, so of course I have to write about it. And since it’s not a very big name movie, I wanted to take this chance to tell you guys about it if you don’t know.

Sing Street is about a 15 year old Irish boy named Conor who starts a band with some new pals to impress a girl, an older and pretty model-wannabe. It’s set in the 80’s so the music has that distinct 80’s vibe, and like with any musical/musical movie, the music really makes or breaks it. In this case, it makes it. Big time. But you don’t even need to really know or love 80’s music to enjoy this. I however do like 80’s music (my boss and I listen to it at work all the time), so this appealed to me.

This movie is written and directed by John Carney, who’s best known credits are for writing and directing the movies Once and Begin Again. Begin Again is my favourite movie, and if you want to know more about that, read my old post here. While I found Once to be a little boring, I loved Begin Again and its music, so of course I was super excited when I saw that Carney had another music-centric movie coming out. It was a film festival movie and never came to local Canadian theaters, so I had to wait for the DVD, but it was worth the wait.

This movie was inspiring, magical, beautiful, funny, sweet and had a great soundtrack. I literally can’t ask for more in a movie.

The cast were all no-name European actors, but they were so talented! All the band members were such adorable, likeable characters and it was so satisfying to see them all jamming together and making such great music. They had each other’s backs and even when I expected there to be average band conflict, there never was. The other characters were great too. They added just the right amount of conflict, parallels and drama.

The original music was amazing. I’ve been listening to the songs on repeat. Even my father said he could definitely hear most of the songs on mainstream radio. There were some great fast songs as well as a few slower songs. The soundtrack also includes actual 80’s songs that were either included in the movie or just inspired the writers, so that’s cool.

I don’t really have many complaints about this movie. I did find the ending a little too artsy and open for my tastes, but when set to a really gorgeous Adam Levine song, I can tolerate it. Raphina, the girl Conor is trying to impress, sometimes seemed to embody that manic-pixie trope too much so I really didn’t love her, but she was a decent character. And I do wish the DVD had a subtitles option because there were a few occasions that I couldn’t understand the boys’ thick Irish accents.

And now for some bullet thoughts because I need to say things:

  • ‘Drive Like You Stole It’ is my favourite song.
  • I loved Eamon, the kid with glasses and the rabbits.
  • Conor’s older brother looked SO MUCH like Chris Pratt.
  • Conor could do better eyeliner than me.
  • Was that other girl Conor’s sister or what?
  • I love Irish accents.
  • Who wants to start a band with me?
  • John Carney better be started on his next musical film project because I’m so ready.

If you want to see a fun and charming, music-filled movie that’s light but not too artsy, then watch Sing Street. You won’t regret it!

That’s all for now!

 

Follow me: Twitter / Facebook / Bloglovin’

 

5 thoughts on “Sing Street Movie Review

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

