TV Methods And Factors: Survey Results

Two months ago, I posted a link to a survey I made for a research methods class at my university. The survey was on television viewing methods. I asked you wonderful bloggers and readers to participate, and I was blown away at the number of you who did (thanks again)!

I had a few requests to post the results, but so to make sure I didn’t get in trouble with the school for plagiarism or anything of the sort, I waited until the class was over and all marks were submitted. Better safe than sorry! But class is over, I did great, and I am here to share the very interesting data that I accumulated.

This is data that TV networks should be banging down my door to see (so if any of you know people in the industry, feel free to share this info and tell them to hire me). I mean, I conducted research on how people watch TV and why they do so in the way that they do, and networks and shows and advertisers need to know how their audiences live.

I got 103 responses before I closed the survey, but one participant’s info was incomplete, so I reported on 102. Out of those 102, 29 were aged 18-24, 17 were aged 25-34, 23 were aged 35-49, and 33 were aged 50 and above. 73 were females.

In terms of TV watching habits, 44% of participants said they actively watched 4-7 shows (that was the majority), and 31% said 1-3 shows. I’m kind of surprised at that, honestly….I mean, I watch 1-3 shows a day….

As for the methods used the most, here are two tables that I made for my report.table 1 2

So watching via a television set is still number one, but Netflix is a close second, and that’s pretty reasonable. It is interesting to see the answers vary by age though. When I was first making this survey, I was worried that I’d only be able to get my peers to respond and that’d give me skewed data as I know for a fact that I am an outlier for almost only using a TV to watch regularly, so I’m glad I got a wide range of answers in the end.

The middle part of my survey asked a series of questions better understand viewing habits. In hindsight, this part didn’t really have that much to do with the main research question, but I was curious. The results are as follows:

  • 87% found commercials to be interfering (I don’t…I kinda like the break to digest what I just saw and check Twitter….)
  • 58% dislike waiting for a show and of that 58% as a whole, 47% said it was because they just liked keeping up. Though I found this very ironic considering that Netflix and DVDs and basically anything except a television set means waiting sometimes months for the season/episode to be released.
  • When asked how often one binge watches, 62% said once in a while, which is reasonable, as everyone does sometimes. It’s fun!
  • But then 61% said they remember plot points and details of binged shows better, and I gotta be honest, I’m calling bull on that. The few times I’ve binge watched, the episodes all blur together and I do NOT remember details well without prompting. Maybe it’s just me, but fellow blogger Tom Holste mentioned that as well, so….
  • 57% said they enjoyed binge watched shows better (again, I do not, for the reason above, but….alrighty then…)

The last part of the survey, and perhaps the most important, asked participants to rank factors relating to why they use the viewing method they do. This table is from my report as well.

table 3.PNG

In my report, I basically stated that since Easy Access was the top factor for the two most popular viewing methods, people simply watch whichever way is easiest for them. I also said that there are so many viewing methods because they each offer something different and people like having a choice.

Essentially that’s all the data. The very last question asked if there were any other factors that the survey didn’t cover, and I got a variety of responses stating that certain shows or services aren’t available in certain countries. Though I gotta give a shoutout to whoever answered that question with this very deep point:

response.PNG

*shakes fist at those rotten brainwashers*

I don’t know if it was allowed, but I did complete my own survey, so it was very weird to see that my answers were in the minority for a lot of them, especially since I watch more TV than anyone I know in real life. But I guess that’s how it goes…

Overall, very interesting stuff. Television as a whole is a passion of mine and one day I hope to have a career in it somehow, so as much as I was doing dry classwork, this was very neat info to comb through. Again, thank you so much to everyone who participated in the survey.

That’s all for now!

2 thoughts on “TV Methods And Factors: Survey Results

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

