Why I’m #TeamIronMan

(Very minor Civil War spoilers. I’ll be cryptic, don’t worry)

So Captain America: Civil War came out last week (on the 6th for little old Canadian me) and it was spectacular, so if your eyes have not yet been graced by this film, then do yourself a favour and get your butt to the nearest movie theater.

Civil War was highly anticipated for several reasons. One, it was a big comic story (or so I’ve heard). Two, it was a chance to prove that Marvel’s battle movies are waaaaaaay better than DC’s battle movies (sorry not sorry, Batman Versus Superman was super lame). And three, it allowed fans to pick sides on a very interesting and fairly even argument while still enjoying the third Captain America movie.

For those who don’t know (hi, mom!) Civil War is about a superhero registration act called the Sokovia Accords in which all people with powers or super abilities are to be registered and monitored to some degree by the government and used as an asset when deemed necessary. This arises after the deaths of many innocent civilians who just happen to be in the way of these superhumans. Damage has been done and now some people want the heroes (the Avengers specifically) in check. But not everyone agrees with the Accords, leading to a civil war. While the comics included many, many, many characters in the story to pick sides, in the movie it’s mostly just the Avengers,  with the two biggest Marvel superhero names (Captain America and Iron Man) at the forefront of the disagreement. Cap believes that people should not be monitored and by signing themselves over, they lose their freedom (typical American!) and the ability to help, where as Iron Man understands that their actions have caused irreparable damage and is willing to place control in the government.

Since this movie was a Captain America movie, it is understandable how a lot of people where proud #TeamCap supporters.

But not me.

Because I knew very little about the comic plot, I was able to go into the movie based on just what I knew from the trailer and discussion. And while I will happily admit to liking the character Iron Man more than Captain America, I’m telling you right now that that had no influence on my choice. I went into the movie loosely on #TeamIronMan and I was fully accepting of the possibility that I could leave on #TeamCap. That wasn’t the case, but I just want to make it clear that I am not biased or stubborn. I’m here to make my case, because as many internet users can tell you, Iron Man was put in a somewhat villainous light even before the movie came out.

But he’s not a villain. Stark knows what he’s doing. He knows that lives have been taken and he doesn’t want more of that responsibility. He didn’t actually kill anyone but he knows that because of The Avengers and his actions, innocent lives were taken. Even worse, he feels responsible for Ultron, and it was the events in Sokovia that was a tipping point for the government. So of course he wants to lessen his guilt and that of his friends.

See, the Accords don’t want superhumans and heroes to be killed or trained as a soldier/weapon. They don’t want to publicly exploit them or make them less of a hero. They just wanted to monitor and keep track of them and use them only when needed and only when there wasn’t as much as a risk to the public, as they can be very dangerous. Think of Kilgrave from Jessica Jones. He had a very extraordinary power and perhaps if the government knew of him and noticed what was happening in Hell’s Kitchen, they would have been able to prevent a lot of horrible things.

Stark has trust in the higher-ups, be it the literal US Government or SHIELD or the United Nations, and he knows that they have the best intentions. Cap should better understand that too, considering it was Peggy Carter and Howard Stark and the SSR that laid the foundations of SHIELD. And Captain America’s whole existence was based around the point of being the USA’s pawn in WWII, so it was silly for him to be so against this.

Of course main reason why Cap was against the Accords was because of Bucky (aka The Winter Soldier). His best friend from like 90 years ago was brainwashed by Hydra and did some bad things, and now he’s apparently a bomber on the run. Cap knows that should he be found, he’ll be killed, and he will not stand for it, considering he was brainwashed and therefore technically innocent. I think that had Bucky been granted immunity or wasn’t in pressing danger, Cap would be more willing to sign the Accords, even if he didn’t 100% believe in it. I think he was almost going to sign despite Bucky, but then Sharon gave that speech and he stuck to his guns.

Honestly, it’s kind of ignorant of Cap to reject this so strongly. No one else on his team was as against it. For the most part, they sided with him because of loyalty. But for Cap to put so much on the line just for Bucky (who, by the way, is trained and can kind of handle himself) is a little weird and unlike him. Even Iron Man, who is more than used to being the head honcho call maker, is willing to step aside and be the one taking orders in the name of public safety. If Tony Stark can do it, I think Cap can and should too. Cap could have even tried to negotiate on behalf of Bucky, but instead he decided to go rogue. This isn’t his fight.

I do understand Cap’s side. I do. It’s endearing that he’s so dedicated to his friend after so long, but resisting and putting so many people in danger was a mistake. There were many consequences. I did not enjoy seeing all these characters who I adore so much fighting so fiercely against each other (even if it was very, very cool!). I think the unity of the Avengers is damaged and could be a factor in the next movie.

So now, dear readers, take to the comments to argue or back me up. Let’s discuss because I do find it very interesting to hear people’s sides. I seriously hope everyone has taken a side based on what they believe and what is logical rather than just the character.

And like I said, if you haven’t seen Civil War then go do so right away because I loved it. I found the first third of the movie to be a little slow, but it picked up so hard and the addition of Spider-Man, Black Panther and Ant Man to the team was really cool. I felt every emotion on the spectrum in that 2.5 hours, which is proof that this movie deserves all the praise it’s getting. Do you think it’s Marvel’s best yet?

That’s all for now!

 

20 thoughts on “Why I’m #TeamIronMan

  1. I haven’t seen this movie, but I’ve chosen not to – but I did so based on what I believe about the story/story arc/characters/character growth. It’s a prickly thing for me. I really have enjoyed several of the superhero movies – all the Thors, the new Spiderman (2007-ish), the new Superman, Iron Man 1 was just great. And they had me until about 40 minutes from the end of Age of Ultron. Then I could tell there was something dark and potentially disturbing brewing. Not just Ultron himself – something that could possibly rip the Avengers apart, and I didn’t like it one bit. To me, it felt too forced, too nasty, too pushing for the melodrama. I enjoy movies that have a moral and a lesson, but I also don’t want it delivered in too heavy-handed a way. After all, it’s about superheroes – it’s supposed to be escapism. So I’d rather skip this one, and hope that what’s offered next by Marvel or DC associates will appeal more to my tastes and expectations.

    • You do you, but I say you’re missing out on a really great movie! That being said, yes, this movie is a little dark and due to the fact that we’re seeing an internal fight, it’s not as cheerful or empowering, so I guess I can understand why one wouldn’t be too inclined to see it.

  2. As a comic junkie I always watch superhero movies to compare. I read Vol. 1-5 of the Avengers Masterworks and I read a bit of Uncanny Avengers. I was never a fan of the avengers, I am more of a X-men groupie. Anywho, I found the movie to be amazing and I enjoy the film series more than the comic. I am looking forward to the Civil War installment next.

  3. I must say…I think I enjoyed Batman vs Superman more than Civil War. I hold some of the same feelings as daleydowning mentioned above, so I think I appreciated its ending more civil war. That, and I won’t even try to hide the fact that I’m a big Superman fan, again, for some more similar reasons.

    I am team Cap, though after hearing your reasons for being team Ironman, it makes sense to me, even though it still doesn’t change my mind. I think the seemingly irrational nature of Cap’s decision is part of the reason I stuck with him. Sharon’s speech about sticking to your guns, even when everything and everyone says not to…that kind of a fight is one I love seeing characters in, and I root for. When they’re fighting so hard for the freedom they believe in, even though they could take the easier way out…that’s the way I saw it. I did enjoy your breakdown though 🙂

    • You are literally the ONLY person in the world who liked BVS more than Civil War.
      But I do think Civil War’s ending was a bit of a set up for the future where as BVS’s ending was kind of a stand-alone, if we ignore the 5 seconds of Justice League stuff beforehand.
      I agree that it was sweet to see Steve so determined to live according to Peggy, I just obviously didn’t agree with the subject matter. I just found such a rebellious attitude very out of character for Cap.

      • Those are good points but at the same time, couldn’t a lot of Cap’s behaviour be considered rebellious? Especially in the first movie.
        And I know general consensus is that the Marvel movies are better than DC ones lately, but I know I’m not the only one who liked it more 😛 Thanks for the friendly geek debate 🙂

    • I’m sure there were lots of favorable reviews to Batman vs Superman. Those are two major characters with major fan bases. I haven’t seen it, so I hold no opinion. I really like what you said about why you decided to stick with Captain America.

      • Yes I’m sure there were plenty of people who liked BVS. It wasn’t horrible by any means. It just is nowhere as great as Civil War in my and many, many others’ opinion!

  4. I think you may misunderstand some things.

    Captain America opposed the Sokovia Accords before the whole mess with Bucky broke out. His concerns had little to do with Bucky in particular and he made his decision without Bucky in mind. The Accords simply made him a criminal for his intervention, for going after Bucky at all, let alone trying to aid him. He spent that entire fight between Bucky and the people after him just doing damage control.

    Then, when they were brought in, he considered signing the Accords, if there were simply some safeguards, some room for compromise, but Tony, driven by guilt and fear, had gone behind his back and confined Wanda to the estate without even telling her about it, and that was when Cap became so disgusted that he refused to sign. Bucky had nothing to do with that.

    Then everything went to crap again and while Cap rallied his side to end the threat of the other Winter Soldiers, despite how saving the world *without* conforming to the Accords would make them all criminals again, Tony rallied his side, including a high school teenager, just to get in their way. Tony was the one basing his actions on the Accords, not Cap.

    Then, after imprisoning several of their mutual friends, Tony learned “oh, Cap was telling the truth,” and went off to help with the Winter Soldier problem, only to find that it was all a ruse. When he learned that Bucky had been used to kill his parents, Tony flipped out and tried to kill Bucky out of anger. The Accords had nothing to do with that. In all of this, I see Cap’s only mistake was in not telling Tony that Hydra had murdered his parents, which is a big mistake, but that final fight was just Bucky and Cap playing defense.

    Basically… the Accords were more in the background, influencing things but not being the central point of Cap’s rebellious actions.

    • I’m not saying that Tony is innocent or didn’t make some bad choices. That’s one of the reasons why I really like Iron Man- Tony is such a flawed guy. And Civil War really gave a chance to show just how flawed both Tony and Steve are. They’re just trying to save people at the end of the day.
      But despite Tony’s issues with Wanda and Bucky, Cap placed many people in danger by not going along with the Accords. He was made well aware that every past mission he’s been on led to civilian deaths and to disregard all that, go rogue and try to fight people/friends standing in his way is very unlike him. He was not willing to place trust or control in anyone, or even try to come to an agreement. He has rank, he could have tried. Cap is a public servant and at the end of the day, he was not really putting the public’s needs first.
      I like Cap, and it’s clear that he has a good heart, but things have changed since WWII and if he wants to be a part of things, he needs to get with the program.

      • Firstly, we agree, they’re just trying to save people.

        After that, however, we have some disagreement. 😉

        In Avengers, Loki was able to use the Tesseract to enable an alien invasion. This was possible because Shield was meddling around with it, hoping to create a new kind of nuclear deterrent, which, despite Tony’s cynicism, is exactly what kept either side of the Cold War from turning it hot. But the invasion was thwarted because Cap and the Avengers repelled it, and if they’d paused to get authorization for such, it would have been too late. And what interference there was from the higher-ups came in the form of a nuke aimed straight at them. Not a ringing endorsement of government oversight, that.

        Then, in Winter Soldier, Shield’s infection by Hydra was revealed, as was how such was enabled and fed by government interference. Unless there were civilians at Shield HQ or on the river, I believe the deaths were all military in nature. And, once again, they were only able to stop Hydra by operating outside the system.

        Then, in Age of Ultron, Tony created a monster because he tried to encase the world in a suit of armor. He tried to control something he could not, and there was great suffering as a result. The Avengers were willing to die instead of forsake the civilians, and everyone who lived did so because, guess what, they and Nick Fury operated outside of government authority.

        Now there are a handful of civilian deaths in a small incident, caused solely by a madman blowing himself up, and the world is suddenly ready to leash the Avengers? Um, no. The Accords had to have been in the works for quite awhile, and they were not “the middle ground.” They were an attempt to control the Avengers and put them at the beck and call of a very complex, sluggish, and easily-corrupted political system. The Avengers were nearly nuked by a handful of overseers who were united in purpose, yet too slow to authorize them and too quick to resort to nukes. You think “a UN panel” is going to be any better? Yet they want to take away all authority to act, outlawing anyone else from any sort of intervention under any circumstances. That’s pretty darn extreme and power-grabby, if you ask me.

        Cap actually was putting the public’s needs first, but recognizing that submitting to the Accords as they stood would basically amount to global suicide. If someone needs help, Cap will help them. If there is a threat, Cap will respond. And if the world is going to get blown up while waiting for authorization from the most ineffective international body in history, then I’d say not waiting for it is preferable.

        But all that’s about the Accords themselves. As for Cap himself, he WAS willing to find a compromise. I believe he said, “I’m not saying it’s impossible. There will have to be safeguards.” But then he found out Tony was already holding Wanda captive (yeah, in an estate, but the difference between a cage made of iron and one made of gold is that the golden cage is insulting as well as confining) and stormed off in a huff. Things went to pot after that, and they weren’t able to revisit the Accords themselves or any possibility of reaching a compromise.

        • I completely understand what you’re saying (and do agree with some points) and the fact that we’re able to have this discussion while still respecting each other and the fabulous movie is why the movie is so amazing!
          And for what it’s worth, when it comes down to SHIELD, the US government and the United Nations, I think the UN is by far the least corrupt or selfish. Over a hundred countries agree to its terms and it’s main goal is just peace.

          • Isn’t it great that we can disagree and debate like two mature adults? 🙂

            I can’t really speak on the comparison of corruption and selfishness, but I do know that, best-case scenario, the UN is probably the slowest.

            Shield: We have a crisis, get on it stat!
            US Government: We have a crisis… let’s all avoid responsibility unless it turns out all right.
            UN: We have a crisis… let’s see, what are everyone’s opinions and perspectives and alliances and subterfuges and oh we’ll just write a sternly-worded warning and leave it for a few years.

    • Really good breakdown of the Avengers history (movie-wise). Thanks for all those major points. Some I’d forgotten. That really helps one to decide where their “side” is.

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

