Sneeze Count 2015

Yes, sneezes. I’m serious.

This blog didn’t exist one year ago, so all of you are probably new to my little…project. I count how many times I sneeze.

Okay, here’s a much needed backstory. Sneezing runs in my family. My dad sneezes a fair amount, and rumour has it my grandfather once sneezed like twenty times in a row. I’m not sure I believe that, but apparently he does sneeze a lot. I guess I inherited this sneeze gene because I sneeze more than anyone in my family. I was kind of known in school for sneezing. In grade six there was this boy who was the class clown, and his sense of entitlement made him a bit of a jerk, but the nicest thing he ever said to me was “if you entered a sneezing contest, you’d win.” In high school, I had two friends who sat behind me and one time after I sneezed in class during a test, they jokingly whispered “shut up!” and threw pens at me. So in 2013 when someone hypothetically said it’d be neat to know how often I sneeze in a week, I decided to find out.

For the past three years, I’ve been counting my sneezes and making bar graphs. It’s silly and my statistics mean nothing to anyone but myself, but it’s amusing and makes for a good story…and blog post!

Anyways, 2015’s stats are in already (due to the way the weeks align, just trust me and go with it) and they’re interesting. This year I hit my all-time weekly low of 7 and also my all-time high of 141 with a grand total of 3459 sneezes, which is the second highest. 2013’s year was slightly higher.

I must warn you though, these numbers are approximate. Though I do my very best, I can’t guarantee that I don’t miscount or forget a sneeze. I’m pretty sure this is fairly accurate because I’m pretty precise, but I’m not going to lie and tell you that these are exact numbers. Either way, take a look!

Sneezes 2015..png

Isn’t this just the silliest thing ever? And yet each year I’m psyched to sit down and go over my data and make this chart. It’s rewarding to see the final product of my year’s work and to look at the chart and consider why numbers are high or low. For example, it’s really high in the summer months because that’s when I worked in a dusty basement book warehouse. Dust’ll make anyone sneeze, but especially me! And that record week in October? A cold mixed with normal autumn allergies. Fun!

Another interesting fact of this year is that I went from a pen/paper counting method to electronic after a slight mishap involving a washing machine…

This cute little app is a lot better than the tiny square of paper I used to carry around

 

Ideally, it’d be super neat to compare my statistics to someone else’s. But who else does this? No one (that I know of!). In that way, it’s kind of cool that I may be the only person on this planet who’s studied this and charted it.

Anyways, I just wanted to share this super weird project of mine, because it is interesting, no matter how odd.

Any thoughts?

 

32 thoughts on “Sneeze Count 2015

  1. Lol. You are crazy! 😉 But that’s neat. I am a sneeze-ster as well, but I never thought of keeping count. 😛 I would be all fine but start my sneeze-fest as soon as my mom sets me up on some chore. Lol. Maybe I am just allergic to chores. 😉

  2. I don’t think I want to know how many times I sneeze! When people ask when my allergy season is, my answer is 365 days! Thanks for giving me a fun perspective on it!

  3. I have shared your post with readers of my blog because it is very interesting and someone might be doing something similar and would compare notes. I also shared it on social media. I left a comment about my analysis of your stats in Blogger’s World 🙂

    Happy New Year 🙂

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

  4. Interesting post. I like how completely nerdy this is and your sense of humor about it.

    I’m a seasonal sneezer but Zyrtec really helps. My girlfriend, on the other hand, is a 24/7/365 sneezer and allergy meds and nasal sprays don’t help her much. I am totally thinking about tracking her sneezing so I can make a snazzy bar graph this time next year, and then you would have one to compare yours too 🙂

  5. I love it, weird huh? Not really people keep track of all sorts of things so why not sneezes! Looking forward to see your stats for the end of 2016. Happy sneezes to you!

  6. “No shit there I was” scrolling through your posts after finding about your page today and it brings me to this most bizarre, yet intriguing and relatable post I’ve ever seen. It’s like your the Canadian version of me. My family also has a sneezing problem, mostly it’s my dad and now I’m doing it an abnormal amount. My dads record is mid-teens, mine is 7. But I don’t sneeze every day, weird. I am honestly laughing to myself knowing that as soon as you sneeze, you make a mental note, then when you can, you log it into your database. It’s beyond silly but absolutely glorious!

    • Oh my GOSH. Amazing. I love how you’ve done this and your explanation for everything is wonderfully in depth. I am geeking out.
      My next Sneeze Count update post will be sometime next week, but I am definitely going to share your site in it.
      Thank you so much for sharing. My heart is happy.

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

