20 Amazing Non-Traditional Christmas Songs

We’ve all heard ‘All I Want For Christmas Is You’ and ‘White Christmas’ and ‘Silent Night’. They’re Christmas staples. Every time a singer/band makes a Christmas album, staples like those are guaranteed to be on there, so we’ve all heard numerous covers of them. And if not from there then from years and years of elementary school Christmas concerts. Not that I don’t appreciate those traditional songs and all their versions, because I really do, but I always get a little more excited every time I see and hear original Christmas songs. In fact, the other night at dinner my parents and I were talking and we all agreed that it should be a rule that if a Christmas album is released there should be at least two original songs.

And so today I am here to list you 20 of my favourite non-traditional Christmas songs so everyone can jam out to some great new tunes! These are all songs that I’ve only ever heard one version of (the original) and maybe you’ve never heard before. There are some Canadian artists here that maybe don’t get airtime outside out Canada, so I’m glad I can help spread the awesomeness.

1. ‘I Wanna Be Your Christmas’ by Andrew Allen

I adore this song so much. It’s so cute and Christmassy and fun! This song is definitely in my top three Christmas songs ever. Plus, this song introduced me to the awesome singer that is Andrew Allen.

2. ‘Step Into Christmas’ by Elton John

This is a fun, funky song by the wonderful Elton John. He’s such a good songwriter and this song is unlike any other Christmas song out there!

3. ‘Underneath The Tree’ by Kelly Clarkson

This track from Kelly Clarkson is amazing. I’m so glad it was the album’s single. At first listen I fell in love. It’s such a great upbeat song and her vocals sound awesome!

4. ‘Wish List’ by Neon Trees

I never expected to hear a song from this pop band that I love, but when I stumbled across it, I was pleasantly surprised. More pop/rock bands from this era need to release Christmas songs.

5. ‘Cold December Night’ by Michael Buble

Fact: Michael Buble is the king of Christmas music. He has a voice of gold and his songs are always* so great. This was an original on his album and I love it!

6. ‘Christmas Is Coming’ by R5

I’ve blogged about R5 before, so it’s no surprise that their one Christmas song (which happens to be awesome!) makes this list.

7. ‘New York City Christmas’ by Rob Thomas

I’ve been to NYC once. But that doesn’t change the fact that this song, though over a decade old, is amazing and powerful. One day I want to go back to NYC at Christmas time and see everything all decorated.

8. ‘Mittens’ by Carly Rae Jepson

This is such a cute song. I feel things in my heart when I hear it. Carly has such a lovely and unique voice and this song deserves more love.

9. ‘Elf’s Lament’ by The Bare Naked Ladies (feat. Michael Buble)

If Michael Buble is the King solo singer of Christmas, The Bare Naked Ladies are the King band of Christmas. They have so many great Christmas songs and covers, but this one is a particular favourite of mine as it’s about elves, as not many songs are, it’s hilarious, and it features Michael Buble, which is a nice bonus.

10. ‘As Long As There’s Christmas’ by Aselin Debison

This song perfectly sums up my feelings about Christmas. I will still be the biggest Christmas nerd when I’m an old lady because Christmas is cool and so is this amazing song.

11. ‘It Ain’t Christmas’ by Autumn Hill

This is a very new song but it’s so sweet! Christmas traditions are always unique and fun. I like the country vibe it has.

12. ‘Christmas All Over Again’ by Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers

This is an old song but I only just kind of found it last year. It’s different and catchy and funky and I really like it. It’s not even a good song to dance to but I keep wanting to dance when I hear it!

13. ‘Home This Christmas’ by Justin Bieber (feat. The Band Perry)

Okay, don’t judge me because of JB. I’m not fond of him as a person, and though I like a few of his old songs, I really don’t care much for him. BUT this song is really cute and The Band Perry are great and so I had to include it on this list.

14. ‘Christmas Eve With You’ by Glee Cast

Glee covered many Christmas songs that I happily listen to year round. But they had a few original holiday ones, and this is one of them. It’s so cute and I really wish it was in an episode and not just on the album.

15. ‘I Wish Everyday Could Be Like Christmas’ by Bon Jovi

I do wish everyday was like Christmas. But this song has the nice rock vibe and a great message so I adore it.

16. ‘Calling To Say’ by Serena Ryder

My father likes Serena Ryder a whole lot more than I do, but I really like this song. It stood out to me even before I knew who Serena Ryder was.

17. ‘Driving Home For Christmas’ by Chris Rea

This is a classic for me. The lyrics are pretty repetitive but his voice is really nice and the song is nice as well.

18. ‘The Magic Of Christmas Day’ by Celine Dion

Celine has vocals like no other and this song showcases them so as well as brings the fun Christmas vibes. This song is so catchy, and my favourite holiday song by Celine.

19. ‘Text Me Merry Christmas’ by Straight No Chaser (feat. Kristen Bell)

This song is hilarious. It’s only a year or so old but it’s super catchy. What I dig most about it is how modern it is. It mentions Snapchat! In a few years, people may have to stop and explain to a kid hearing this song what Snapchat is. This song screams non-traditional and I love it.

20. ‘My Only Wish (This Year)’ by Britney Spears

No matter what you think about Britney Spears or her music, there’s no denying that this song is great and timeless.

There ya have it, folks. 20 amazing, powerful songs that scream Christmas and fun and magic. I know most songs here are upbeat here but I guess that’s because some of the most traditional Christmas songs are slower and these days, fun sells…well, they sell with me. And I am the biggest Christmas music connoisseur there is, so…
I hope you all like these songs, and I’m interested to hear which ones you like the most or if I’ve introduced you to any new artists, or other non-traditional songs you love. I also want y’all to note that I do love several other Christmas songs so if you want me to make a post on Christmas songs that I love in general (including traditional), let me know because I am always eager to share Christmas music with those who appreciate it too!

That’s all for now!

* I’m gonna be honest, ‘Santa Buddy’ grinds my gears. It’s so weird and unnecessary and I’d prefer to live without it.

8 thoughts on “20 Amazing Non-Traditional Christmas Songs

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

