Black Widow Forever Red (It’s A Novel!)

I’m an avid reader and a Marvel fan, but I never knew that Marvel had reading material other than comics!

So when I saw that there was an actual novelized book all about Natasha Romanoff aka Black Widow, I was excited. I was even more excited to see that my local library had it in. So excited, in fact, that I checked it out during the busiest time of the school year. As it turns out, one can get a whole lot of reading done when they spend three hours sitting in front of a school computer that is transferring Unity files at an agonizingly slow pace *insert side eye emoji*.

This book was very interesting. I didn’t know what to expect because I’m not used to Natasha or Avengers in anything but screen form. But I was entertained, and that’s what a good book does! It was written by Margaret Stohl, who wrote the Beautiful Creatures YA books (I never read them, but I saw the movie….it sucked). Unfortunately, this book was pretty YA and I was not entirely thrilled with that aspect. You see, this book was half about Natasha and half about a seventeen year old girl named Ava who Natasha rescued from the Red Room when she (Ava) was a kid. Ava and Natasha’s lives are intertwined years later, only this time a mysterious seventeen year old boy is thrown in the mix too. So, you can guess what happens next. I was not sold on this relationship that formed in less than a week while on the run for their lives, but the good news is, Natasha was questioning it too, so at least I wasn’t alone. I just don’t understand what it is about danger that makes strangers fall in love suddenly.

Aside from the unnecessary romantic subplot, this book was good. Chapters shifted between Natasha and Ava and Alex (the guy), and at the end of every chapter was a transcript insert from Natasha’s trial/documentation afterwards, which helped give insight as to why the chapter I just read was important as well as what was to come. It was a cool and unique bonus

But my favourite thing about this book was how well the known characters were written. Besides Natasha, Phil Coulson and Tony Stark (Iron Man) were in the book too (and a few others were mentioned), and their dialogue was so on point. I could easily picture them saying it all in the movies. So I was impressed at that, as well as the world this book developed. While I wish the focus was on Natasha solely, having Ava and Alex gave us a glimpse at how this superhero world is to an average person. The Avengers were known and popular. People had t-shirts and tattoos and posters sporting them. But at the same time, other fictional things existed as well. There was a Harry Potter reference and a Hunger Games one too. I was just really intrigued by this world because it’s not one that is shown much, if at all.

In this book, we get a bigger look at Natasha. In Age Of Ultron, we found out about the Red Room and what consequences that had on Natasha, but it was neat to learn more and understand Natasha’s feelings and thought process. Readers get to see a different side of Natasha that isn’t conveyed in the movies, so I enjoyed that. It is, after all, a big reason as to why I wanted to read the book anyways. Natasha is awesome and I wanted to know more about her.

Another bonus of this book is that I learned a few words in Russian. Coolbeans, right? Da.

I definitely recommend this book to any Marvel fans who:
a) love Natasha Romanoff
b) don’t read comics but want to read something with superheroes
c) wants to read an interesting book
d) all of the above and trust my opinion

Wikipedia is claiming that both Marvel and DC have many more novels, but I have access to four libraries (seriously!) and none of them seem to have any others, so I don’t know if I’ll be getting my hands on them anytime soon. Part of me is sad and part of me knows I have very limited reading time so maybe it’s not the worst thing at this time.

That’s all for now!

 

12 thoughts on “Black Widow Forever Red (It’s A Novel!)

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

