How Tech-Savvy Are You?

In the past few days, I’ve had to think about technology a lot. Technology is interesting in the sense that its meaning, or what it brings to mind, always changes. Nowadays, technology is all machines and smartphones…essentially things that use power. We average people are lucky to be exposed to some really good tech! As a young person, I’ve had the opportunity to grow up in a culture that utilizes technology a lot. I’ve been around for the Gameboy Colour (remember how it wasn’t back-lit so you couldn’t play in the dark?) and now I see people with the newest flashy Nintendo 3DS XL that has internet capabilities! There’s so much tech out there and it’ll never end. Heck, I go to school to learn about technology.

But just because I’m learning it, doesn’t mean I’m tech-savvy. My Blogging 201 assignment for the day is to link up to social media. I’m already on Twitter (@coolbeans_4 follow me!) and I do post automatically to Tumblr, but that’s it. I’ve never had Facebook and at this point, I don’t really want it. Instagram is for people who like taking and being in pictures (both of which I do not) and Pinterest is for moms (no offence to any non-motherly Pinterest users). I use Snapchat, but mostly in place of texting, because a friend and I have just fell into that habit. I can work my iPhone and I know more about the Internet and blogs and WordPress than anyone in my family, too. But am I tech-savvy? I know nothing about code, use Microsoft Paint to edit pictures because I don’t know Photoshop, and have never used a torrent.

This is very accurate.

One of the classes I’m taking this semester is about technology and creative expression. It’s taught by this lady who looks old enough to have young grandchildren. She told us on the first day of class that she was around for the first computer and is an expert on what she’ll be teaching us. So you’d think that it’d be all high-tech and cool, right? No. The desktop attached to the projector was using Windows 98, she failed to put a stop to YouTube Autoplay, and she didn’t realize that she almost made us watch the same video twice in a row because she got the URLs wrong.

And we’ve only had two classes so far.


I have a friend who was telling me the other day that her boyfriend at another school has this professor who’s rather old. It’s an English class, so technology isn’t really needed, but this professor apparently told the students that she will not be using the Internet at all because she thinks the Internet won’t take off.

Excuse me, what? The Internet won’t take off? This lady is clearly living in a very quiet bubble because the Internet already has taken off. It’s called Web 2.0 for a reason, folks! The Internet has expanded so much in the past few decades and it will continue to expand. That’s why we’re able to get internet capabilities on device like handheld games. Because the Internet has progressed to the point where every device is going to use it. There are even fridges and soon microwaves that will have Internet access. Why that is needed, I don’t know. But that’s the future.

The future of technology is so vast that it’s unimaginable, and I’m only talking about what we as normal civilians will be exposed to. Movies and books may try to guess but we just have to wait and see how it goes. There are so many movies about robots taking over and I honestly believe that’s a possibility. The Robot Wars are coming, and the first to turn is likely Apple as they have direct access to us through our phones and Siri.

Okay, maybe I’m joking. Maybe I’m not. I do believe that technology is growing at a really fast pace and it’s only a matter of time before we all have our own Jarvis or Rosie and, yeah, maybe technology will get so intense that the computers will develop a mind of their own. Hopefully that’s not in my lifetime.

I know I have a wide range in my readers’ ages, so I’d love to hear from all of you: how tech-savvy are you?
Take this simple poll and then leave a comment so we can discuss!

And again, please follow me on Twitter (or tell me your handle) because having a good social presence for something like blogging is very important in this day and age!

8 thoughts on “How Tech-Savvy Are You?

  1. There are many older people who have never touched a computer, but also many like myself have been using them longer than you have! Pinterest started off being for Mums, but now you need it. Yes. Even if you are male. All the social media gurus are saying it is going to be the must-have for 2016.

  2. I doubt age is the only reason some people aren’t tech savvy, but I would want someone more knowledgeable to be teaching my class! I’ve worked on a computer for many years, too, but I really only knew the functions I needed for my job. That’s why I like blogging –always something new to learn!

    • Oh, for sure! I know plenty of older people who are really good with technology and some younger people who aren’t.
      And I totally agree about blogging. There is always something new to learn, and that’s why things like WordPress’ Blogging U courses are so great because everyone is there to learn and help out. 🙂

  3. Hi Donovan. The teachers you mention in this post need to update their knowledge of all-thing-tech, or at least their knowledge of some-things-tech. Even knowing more about one or two techy things would be a huge improvement. 😉 I’m way out of your age-range, but I find this post and your blogging style to be very refreshing. Way to go, Donovan. Carry on!

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

