My Life Is A Small Rectangle

Blogging 101’s newest task is to interpret and write from a prompt, and I decided to go for it considering prompt work is something I need to work on. So after flipping through some prompts from WordPress’ The Daily Post for over half an hour because I wasn’t feeling most of them and the ones I did like just didn’t fit with what I wanted on my blog, I decided to write on the following prompt:

Describe your relationship with your phone. Is it your lifeline, a buzzing nuisance, or something in between?

My phone. My precious, precious phone. It’s simultaneously my baby and my best friend and my lifeline and my worst enemy.

It’s an iPhone 4S. I’ve had it for a few years, and before that I had the Samsung Vice, which was a slide phone (remember when those were all the rage?). But all I could do on my slide phone was text, so going from that to an iPhone was interesting. That being said, I did have and actively use and iPod Touch, so it was a perfect combination of the two.

My phone is always on me. I mean, I’m nineteen, and what nineteen year old isn’t carrying their phone? I use it when I need it, I use it when I’m bored, I use it when I should be doing other things…I use it a lot.

And most of the times, I use it for music. I am constantly listening to music. At school last year, I rarely left my dorm room without headphones in. I liked the constant sounds in my ear to fill the loneliness and/or awkward silences I am prone to. The music on my phone is so important to me, and perhaps the only reason I have an iPhone (I feel an Apple rant coming on…another post, maybe).

I call my phone my best friend because it is, in a way. It’s always with me, always there when I need it, it supports me and I love it. I’ve never forgotten it or lost it or treated it carelessly because I need it, similar to how one needs their best friend.

And then there are my real friends, and I have my phone to thank for giving me the ability to connect with them. Not just by texting, but through all the other applications available. Sure, Twitter and Email can be accessed on a laptop, but Snapchat and Whatsapp cannot. The mobility and ease is a gift, and I enjoy it. Almost all the big friendships I had are strengthened and supported by the power of phones.

In fact, the on-the-go powers I have is something really awesome. I blog on my phone, I write stories on the Notes app on my phone…one time I started writing an essay on my phone. Using paper to write a reminder is obsolete now. Phones make life so much simpler. That’s why I’m excited to see how phones improve over time. I’m waiting for Iron Man hologram abilities. Y’know, like that Z Phone from Hannah Montana….

I also can’t begin to tell you how many times I’ve used my phone to fake busyness, how many times I didn’t want to seem like a creepy bored person, so I’ve unlocked my phone and just flicked through the pages of apps or refreshed my emails for the fifth time in the past ten minutes. It’s like fake texting.

So you may be wondering why I called my phone my worst enemy, since so far I’ve nothing but positive things to say. Well, there are a few negatives. For one, I sometimes feel like I’m too reliant on my phone. I feel like it’s become a part of me and because of it, I’d go crazy without it.

Same, except instead of Facebook I check WordPress and instead of Instagram I check Snapchat.

I also feel like I miss cool real life moments because I’m on my phone. And then there’s the downside to constant communication. There’s countless articles about how people express themselves and write through text and how the lack of face-to-face interaction can do damage. But it’s more than that. It’s the fact that friendships seem to only be based on phone interactions. It’s like people think that if they text you Merry Christmas on December 25th, that means the friendship is solid and strong, even if that’s the only communication in months, when that is very false.

But despite that, I still love my phone. Overall, I love it and enjoy having it and I treat it well. I’m not going to lie and say my phone is always lighting up with new messages and notifications, but it’s enough to keep me seemingly always on it. Mobile phones are arguably the greatest invention in a long time, and I’m glad to live in a time when they’re so functional and easy and fun.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to repeatedly check my WordPress stats on the app so I can see how many of you have just read this post.

15 thoughts on “My Life Is A Small Rectangle

  1. I don’t blame you for being in love with your iPhone. I’ve got a 4…and while I hated the iOS update that changed it bejeweled look into a techy one, I still love the phone.
    (Has the view-count gone up?)

  2. Once I wrote a term paper using my iPhone 5c. I was flying home for a visit and the guy next to me was super cute but I was too nervous to talk to him, so I wrote the entire paper on my note app instead.

  3. All of my friends have an iPhone 6S or 6+, and I get made fun of for having a 4S. It hardly works, is cracked, and always crashes. But it’s all good, because I’m happy that I at least HAVE a phone. 🙂 I completely understand the controversy on how your phone is simultaneous so many things, since it’s the same for me.

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

