15 Fictional Best Friends In Honour Of #NationalBestFriendsDay

So apparently it was #NationalBestFriendsDay today (June 8th). The day where people on social media post pics of their BFFs just to publicly solidify the fact that they do in fact have best friends. Sorry, I’m being cynical. I honestly think it’s great to recognize amazing close friendships because friendships are so important and great.

And that’s why I want to highlight some of my favourite fictional friendships. So here, in no particular order, are 15 fabulous friendships.

1. Leslie and Ann (Parks And Recreation)

The cool thing about these two was that when the show started, they didn’t know each other and we got to see their friendship grow. Leslie latched on to Ann and didn’t let go, and they are so amazing together. Ann puts up with all of Leslie’s antics and Leslie just loves Ann so much (enough to call her so many wonderful names). I cried so hard when Ann and Chris moved away and I also cried so hard when Ann and Chris came back in the very last episode.

2. Fitz and Simmons (Agents Of SHIELD)

I love these two. They can finish each other’s sentences and even highfive without looking! I could watch them do science all day! Unfortunately, their friendship hit some rocky waters in S2, so I’ll just watch S1 over and over again and enjoy their awesome happy friendship times!

3. Rachel and Kurt (Glee)

These two had such an interesting friendship. As two talented divas, they were constantly arguing, which made me sad, but at the end of the day, I knew they were best friends forever. Their duets were great, and they always pushed each other to do better. I was so happy to see Rachel as a surrogate for Kurt and his husband Blaine in the last episode, because that proves just how amazing their friendship is.

4. Joey and Chandler (FRIENDS)

This is the ultimate bromance. Never once have two dudes understood each other on such a silly level. They’re hilarious together and I love rewatching FRIENDS episodes to see them be total dorks together, whether it’s raising the duck and chicken, or enjoying the reclining chairs. Just hilarious.

5. Monica, Rachel and Pheobe (FRIENDS)

Gotta add the FRIENDS girls because they’re just amazing too. They’re so weird and funny, but they stick together. They’re there to support and comfort one another so much, which is great. They too are on the same wavelength, as you can see from this great gif above. 😛

6. Harry, Ron and Hermione (Harry Potter)

Ah yes, the Golden Trio. Such a strong group. They’ve literally been with each other though the darkest and brightest times of their lives. They’ve fought evil together, and that strengthens a friendship so much. It was so amazing to read about and see these three grow up together and work their way through their adventures. I loved seeing them in the epilogue sending their children off to Hogwarts together.

7. Elphaba and Glinda (Wicked)

These two. They went from straight up enemies to best friends. I mean, ‘What Is This Feeling’ is a great song, but ‘For Good’ is just so powerful. While they had a sad ending, their story was so fun. From Glinda giving Elphie a makeover to them going to The Emerald City together, it was very enjoyable. I also liked reading about Glinda in the books when she, even far into the future, considered Elphaba to be her best friend.

8. Cisco and Caitlin (The Flash)

Like Fitzsimmons, they are adorable science nerds. They are also so far completely platonic, which is great. They’re fun and funny and work so well together. They care for each other so much too, which is great. Cisco was there to comfort Caitlin when her fiancé died, which is important. I also liked seeing Caitlin accompany Cisco to a party for Cisco’s brother. I hope that next season, when they both will be exploring their newfound powers, this amazing friendship remains and grows!

9. Taz and Up (Starship)

Most of you probably haven’t heard of these two, but they’re from Team Starkid‘s musical Starship, which I highly recommend. Anyways, Taz and Up are great. We learn in the show that they’ve been friends for ages, even fighting in a robot war together. Taz stands by Up even when he was going though a rough time, and seeing them come together and kick butt in the musical is great! They’re hilarious and have a special place in my heart.

10.  Matt and Foggy (Daredevil)

I love these two. They really made the show for me, as I’ve said before. They’re witty and they work well together. Avacados at law, amiright? Seeing them as best buds in the present time and then later on in the season seeing them when they first met and how they became friends was simply amazing. I can’t wait to see more of them in S2!

11. Donna, Rosie and Tanya (Mamma Mia)

The dream team. I love Mamma Mia, and these three are perfect in it! They’re friendship goals all the way! ‘Super Trooper’ is a work of art, and all through the movie/musical when Tanya and Rosie are there to 100% support and help Donna is fantastic.

12. Groot and Rocket (Guardians Of The Galaxy)

It’s not the happiest or cutest gif, but it sums up their relationship: teamwork and fighting. Yes, a racoon and a tree are best friends and I love them. They were hilarious in the movie, and such an unusual pair. I didn’t think I’d like them as much as I do. I would love to see more of their back story and how they became friends (any comic readers know?) and I can’t to see more of this insane duo in GOTG2.

13. Natasha and Clint (Avengers)

the avengers animated GIF As I explained here, I really loved how these two aren’t in a romantic relationship and are instead just awesome friends. They have each other’s back during a fight and support each other in every way possible. They’re just great together. Some more back story and history from them would be amazing as well! Any guesses as to what she’s whispering to him here?

14. Archie and Jughead (Archie Comics)

Like Joey and Chandler, these two are the ultimate bros. For decades these two have been best friends. They have no judgement for the other’s way of life and they know they can count on each other for anything. There was one comic I remember where Jug is about to move away and he pulls Archie aside and was about to tell him the secret of the S on his sweater as well as give him the sweater and I just remember thinking about how special that was and how awesome they are as comic friends. (For more Archie goodness, see this post!)

15. Mike and Sully (Monsters Inc)

This classic Pixar duo has always been a favourite of mine. I am currently giggling as I watch this gif because it’s just so iconic. These two rocked in Monsters Inc and I was thrilled to see them in Monsters University where we saw them go from enemies to pals (like Elphie and Glinda!).

So those are my 15 favourite fictional best friends. Like I said, friendship is so important and special and these guys all inspire me to be a better friend. Leave it to me to post this with less than half an hour left on #NationalBestFriendsDay, but to be fair, I didn’t know about it until later in the day. Do you guys have any more fictional BFFs that you love?

P.S. Shoutout to my best friends, if you’re reading this. You know who you are and I love you all! ❤

4 thoughts on “15 Fictional Best Friends In Honour Of #NationalBestFriendsDay

  1. Nice list! I can’t wait for DD S2 either!!! And thumbs up for Leslie and Ann. Honestly there’s soo many relationships I love on this show! (P&R FTW!!!) Anyway, here’s another friendship I like: Doc and Marty McFly. One of them is a crazy genius and also a lot older, while the other is a young “slacker” yet both seem to enjoy each others company lol. Very cool duo imo lol.

    • Oh man, I could have done all 15 friendships from Parks And Rec alone! That show is amazing!
      Confession: I’ve only seen a bit of the first Back To The Future movie and that’s it….they’re classics so maybe I should watch them, eh?

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

