So I Watched The Leaked Supergirl Pilot…

My friend and I decided to watch the Supergirl pilot that was leaked online the other day, even though the show doesn’t officially air until November. Rumour has it CBS leaked it themselves to create hype. So if that’s true then I’m doing what I’m supposed to do. And I’ll still watch it when it airs, so ratings can do okay.

In case you don’t know, Supergirl is the new DC Comics show airing on CBS this fall starring Melissa Benoist as Kara Zor-El. IMDB summarizes the show as: “the adventures of Superman’s cousin in her own superhero career.” Check out the trailer here!

I know very little about Supergirl and Superman and most DC things, so this was a learning experience, but that’s cool. Based on the trailer, this show seemed to be more like The Flash than Arrow, which I was happy about. I haven’t seen Smallville or any of the Superman movies so I can’t really compare the cousins in depth.

So this show. I’ll tell you straight up that I didn’t looooove it. Melissa was great and I love Jeremy Jordan so I enjoyed when his pretty face was on screen, but the pilot was flawed. (Spoilers below!)

Like I find The Flash, it was kind of cliché. The dialogue was mehhh, and the fact that on the same day Kara was complaining about not being able to use her powers, she goes and saves the day and becomes a hero bugged me. Also, Jeremy Jordan’s character Winn had very little explanation. Like, what’s his job? How did he manage to hack the police thing? How close are he and Kara (apparently very close as he is the first person she tells about being Supergirl….?). The acting of Kara’s boss, Cat, was not the best, and the relationship between Kara and Cat was very The Devil Wears Prada, but that wasn’t too bad….yet. I dunno, I feel like it could get boring if it goes on too long. The show also moved fast. She was Supergirl in full suit within the first 20 minutes. It also is setting up to be like villain of the week, like on The Flash and the first half of Marvel’s Agents Of SHIELD‘s S1, but I’m not too upset about that.

I did like how the start of the show gave us a quick summary of Kara’s life, so people like me who know very little are not left with many questions and there’s no slow build up of information. I also liked how normal Kara was. I mean, she had powers and knew that, but she hadn’t used them in ages, and furthermore, hasn’t mastered them. In her first fight scene, she was throwing punches about as well as I could. So seeing her learn and grow overtime will be cool (whereas in The Flash the only learning Barry is doing is learning that he actually can run that fast!)

There was obvious references to Superman from Kara wearing glasses as part of her identity to the suit under her clothes to working for a newspaper company. However, never once was he called “Superman”, he was always known as “my cousin” or “him” which amused me. I wonder if Superman will ever be in an episode. Because, I mean, that’d help her out a lot as Kara is currently very confused and new to the whole hero thing that Superman has been rocking for years now in his city.

Anyways, I don’t regret watching this pilot, even if I didn’t love it as much as I hoped I would. I enjoyed S1 of The Flash so if it ends up being like that, I’ll be satisfied. Since Supergirl is on CBS and The Flash and Arrow are on CW, apparently we won’t see a crossover anytime soon. It does suck that I have to wait until November to see more Supergirl. But I guess that’s what I get for watching the leaked episode!

 

This crossover would be awesome!
 
Are any of you planning to watch the show in November or have you seen the leaked episode? Let’s discuss!

7 thoughts on “So I Watched The Leaked Supergirl Pilot…

    • Well, since I technically did it with illegal methods (it being leaked and all), I wanted to avoid sharing, but if you were to by chance Google a website called DareTV and maybe search the show on that, then that’s your business. 😉

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

