Unpopular Opinion: I Didn’t Love Kimmy Schmidt

This is such an unpopular opinion because I haven’t seen a single negative thing about this show.

So who is Kimmy Schmidt? She’s the title character in a Netflix show called Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, played by the adorable Ellie Kemper. The show is, by IMDB’s words, about: “A woman is rescued from a doomsday cult and starts life over again in New York City.” It was produced by Tina Fey, who I like, so I had high hopes.

I saw the show’s promo when it came out because a blog I was reading said it looked great. I though the show looked a bit silly after that and didn’t think I’d watch when the episodes came out.

But when the show was released on Netflix, on March 6, I read reviews and saw such positive tweets and posts about it. So I decided to give it a shot (I don’t have Netflix; I streamed all the episodes online). Besides, there were only thirteen episodes at about half an hour each, so it didn’t take a long time.

And honestly, I came to the same conclusion that I did when I saw the promo. It was silly and unrealistic. And yeah, I get that it’s just a light comedy. It’s supposed to be silly and unrealistic. But there were a couple of things that bugged me so much that I couldn’t see past it and couldn’t come to love the show, like the rest of humanity apparently has.

My biggest problem with the show is that Kimmy needed therapy. She spent 15 years locked underground and once she got out, she did a quick interview on some talkshow, then headed off to NYC to be normal and live a normal life. You see the problem too, right? And the thing is, there was an episode where they addressed that too. Kimmy had some signs of PTSD and realized she needed someone to talk to. But after one episode of with unsuccessful attempts, it was never addressed again. The excuse for not getting a therapist was money but are you kidding me? Four girls live underground in a crazy cult life for almost two decades who are then rescued and then become minor household names would be getting so much free therapy in the real world. Dr Phil would be begging to see them. And while I understand that Kimmy in therapy wouldn’t make for good TV, it needed to be addressed and not laughed off like it was. I’m not even saying this so passionately for personal reasons, I’m saying it because the inaccuracy of this show just annoyed me so much.

My next issue with the show was that Kimmy was kidnapped when she was 14. She has had the education of an eighth grader and her years in an unstimulating environment would surely have lessened her intelligence, but somehow, it was a good idea for her to go get a career and live a normal life in New York? I’ve met eighth graders, I was an eighth grader once, and let me tell you, some of them are really stupid. There is no way a normal eight grader would have the ability to live like a normal adult in NYC of all places. But again, simple comedy, so whatever…

Bunker days
Let’s talk characters. Or, one character specifically. Titus, who is Kimmy’s roommate. He was annoying. He was every cliché gay stereotype wrapped into one for comedic effects, and I have nothing against gay people. Titus was self-centered and I was upset at Kimmy for not calling him out on his awful personality. He did nothing to help her, and actually, she helped him more.

I know I seem to be tearing this show apart. Honestly, it wasn’t all bad. There were some funny parts, the theme song is super catchy, the plot is very original, and Kimmy is adorable and sweet. The show did amuse me, and though I can’t even explain why, I’ll likely watch the second season next year. I didn’t hate this show. I just didn’t love it.

What are your thoughts on Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt? Did you like it? Are you planning to watch it?

That’s all for now!

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

