My Favourite Movie: Begin Again

For the longest time, if you had asked me what my favourite movie was, I would have likely shrugged and then said “I dunno, one of the Harry Potter movies” and then probably said “like, maybe the fourth” because that was one of my favourite books in the series. More recently, my answer to the question would likely have been “ummm…Alice In Wonderland” because that was a great movie, but deep inside me, I knew it wasn’t my all-time favourite. Now I have a legitimate answer.

On my first night away in University, I was bored and alone at 8 pm. I knew no one and had nothing to do and didn’t know where to go. So I sat on my fresh bed in my brand new room, and I streamed a movie on my phone.

That movie was Begin Again and oh my gosh. I loved it.

I had heard a tiny bit about the movie before hand. It had a cool cast (Keira Knightley, Mark Ruffalo and Adam Levine) and a slight indie vibe. The director was the same dude who directed the movie Once which I had seen and thought was okay. But like I said, at the time, I was bored and alone, so I wasn’t picky.

I’d like to start by saying that this movie is not a musical. I love musicals, don’t get me wrong, but this is not one. It is, however, a movie about music. So there is a lot of singing and music making.

Which is great, because that’s one thing I really, really loved about this movie. The soundtrack was absolutely fantastic. There wasn’t a single song that I didn’t like (which is saying a lot because I am very picky when it comes to music) and I had some of them on repeat all through Frosh Week.

But what’s this movie about? IMDB says: “a chance encounter between a disgraced music-business executive and a young singer-songwriter new to Manhattan turns into a promising collaboration between the two talents.” The executive being Mark and the singer being Keira.

Three reasons why I love this movie (aside from the music): 1. the characters are great. Though they have flaws, they’re likable and relatable and nice. 2. it’s a feel-good movie. It’s not an edge-of-your-seat thriller, but it’s still a great watch. 3. strong female lead!

I made all my friends watch it, and if I could, I’d make all of you watch it too. I love this movie so much. Whether you like musicals or not, I highly suggest you watch this. Aside from a few f-bombs, it’s pretty safe movie for all ages. I don’t care if it was snubbed at the Oscars this year, this movie deserves ALL the awards.

Give it a go, then report back here. Or, if you have already seen it, leave a comment expressing your love for this beautiful, amazing, masterpiece of a movie! 😀

That’s all for now!

6 thoughts on “My Favourite Movie: Begin Again

  1. Been wanting to watch this movie but haven’t had the time… Will definitely have to watch it though!

    Cool content by the way. I read your about, and maybe it’s because we are around the same age that I find your posts fun to read 🙂

    • It’s such a good movie, I hope you enjoy it!
      Oh, good, I’m glad there are more people around my age. The beauty of WordPress is that there is no target mass age of users , but I do feel really young.
      Thanks for commenting!

Tell me your secrets and ask me your questions...

